Rio 60 Second Face Toner Review

31 May

208-5106_PI_TPS961808

I’ve noticed that I seem to be developing nasal labial lines and the beginning of jowls! I think the whole of my lower face would look fantastic if it had a bit of a lift and with my wedding coming up next year I’ve been on a bit of a push to try and look as gorgeous as humanly possible (I’m taking 3 different supplements to try and improve my hair and I’ve changed my exercise routine). I’m not keen to try fillers or botox (I’m only 30) so I tried some facial exercises to tackle the problem. Firstly I did some Annelise Hagen’s face yoga exercise videos I found online and then Eva Fraser’s Facial Fitness DVD based on all the good reviews it received. Although I have seen some results in my cheeks, I haven’t noticed results anywhere else and as during the exercises I need to focus on working specific facial muscles which is something I’m not familiar with and I’m unsure if I’m even working the correct ones- it’s not as easy as working your biceps I decided to buy some sort of facial toner devise to make sure I’m targeting the correct areas and perhaps provide some more resistance.

The Rio 60 second face lift has some really good reviews and wasn’t too expensive so I decided to give it a go!

It comes with a really useful DVD which guides you through all the exercises so you’re not feeling clueless. It has 3 different settings- firming, tap toning and infusion The first time I used it I used the firming setting which works much like an ab belt- you put it on the specific area that needs exercising and it stimulates the muscle for you. You need to use some of the conductive gel on the metal prongs before you put it on the face- unfortunately the conductive gel contains 4 different types of parabens so when I run out I’ll try and find a toxin less version.

When I turned it on and I was holding it for the first time I was really aware of the electricity, I think I’m quite sensitive to things and I could especially feel it where my metal bra strap fastenings were. I’ve had this experience before- while being food tested where the therapist made me part of an electronic circuit I could feel it through the same place despite her telling me that I couldn’t!

I was really nervous at initially using the product- the thought of putting some sort of electrifying device on my face wasn’t pleasant! Luckily my fiance was on hand so I tested it on him first and thankfully he didn’t instantly die so I thought it’d be safe enough to have a go! I can report that it’s actually not an unpleasant experience at all more of a mild tingling and you can adjust the intensity levels so there’s really nothing to worry about,

There are 9 different treatment zones:

rio-lift-zones-l

Some of which you’ll obviously have to repeat on each side of the face making it 15 in total so 60 seconds on each area = total usage time 15 minutes.

For the forehead and brow area the devise freakishly makes you raise your eyebrow all by itself ala Roger Moore

Roger-Moore

Strangely enough when I used the device on the right hand side of my forehead I could feel it on the top middle of my head.

The under eye area makes your lower eye lid flicker a bit- according to the DVD it’s not uncommon to see flashing lights while exercising this area, thankfully I didn’t!

I do really enjoy using the devise because you can actually see the area that your targeting working, although while working around the mouth areas I thought I could feel it in my teeth a bit which isn’t pleasant and the next day some of my teeth hurt.

I avoided using the product on the neck and behind the ear areas as I’m a bit worried that I’m going to end up with a thick muscly neck! And I don’t have any double chin problems so I might just avoid that area for the time being, possibly down to accidently working that area when I regularly do sit ups. I will have a go on the other settings soon and keep you updated!

Update

Today I used the second setting- tap toning which you use exactly in the same way as the first setting- put it on certain areas on your face for a minute while it contracts the muscles. The only difference is the first setting has 2 seconds of facial contractions followed by a 3 second pause whereas the second setting has “pulsing massage action” which lasts for 5 seconds followed by a 3 second pause. I’m not sure what difference these settings make to the facial muscles but the second setting seems more pleasant as it’s more “massage-y”. I tried to up the intensity settings today although my teeth still hurt- upon reading the leaflet information this is “normal”- although it might be “normal” it’s certainly not pleasant and it’s painful so I’m not sure if your teeth adjust in time otherwise I’ll be unable to progress in the settings. I HAVE noticed some results today! I’ve noticed after each time I use this that my face is more puffier, today however my lips feel more swollen we’re talking bee sting not allergic reaction and my cheeks are getting that Kate Moss look- yippee! I have high hopes for this product, I just hope it actually works!

One Response to “Rio 60 Second Face Toner Review”

  1. ljgodbolt May 31, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    Reblogged this on Ultra Fashion Online.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers

