Broccoli Soup

photo (41)

While this isn’t the most delicious soup I’ve tried, it’s still good to eat/slurp and has the bonus of giving you all the goodness of broccoli in a way that isn’t disgusting. I really hate broccoli, it’s one of my least favourite foods, which is annoying as broccoli is so good for you and I definitely need a good source or iron in my diet, being a pescatarian that succumbs to feeling faint/light headed.

Broccoli is rich in sulphoraphane which helps reduce the risk of cancer in the bowel, stomach, breast and lungs. It’s also rich in vitamin C, folate and fibre. The milk provides you with a good source of protein and calcium and the flaked almonds provide vitamin E, iron zinc and further calcium.

I had been feeling ill today, I think I was coming down with something as I was feeling really dizzy and lightheaded and amazingly after having this soup I instantly felt a lot stronger. I made the soup with cows milk this time so I think if I were to make it again I would use non dairy milk as the cows milk has made me feel a bit sick as I’m not used to having it.

This recipe is suitable for vegetarians and is from from Carol Vorderman’s cookbook “Detox Recipes”.

Makes 4 Servings

  • 450g broccoli florets
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 450ml vegetable stock
  • 450ml skimmed or non dairy milk
  • 2 teaspoons cornflour, blended with a little water
  • Low sodium salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 40g toasted flaked almonds

Put the onion, broccoli and vegetable stock in a saucepan, bring to the boil and simmer for about 15 minutes until the vegetables are soft.

Liquidise the soup. Return the saucepan with the milk and then stir in the cornflour blended with a little water. Bring to the boil, stir and then simmer for a minute or two.

Serve and sprinkle with the toasted almonds.

Carol Vorderman’s Detox

Leave a Reply

