Perricone

3dd-main-image-3 I’m repeating myself from a previous post about Perricone, but I thought it would be helpful to have all the information in one place. As a brief overview to the Perricone diet you should aim to have a good source of protein, fat and carbohydrates (making sure you have fruit and veg) at every meal. Meals/snacks include:

  • Full fat yogurt (protein) with fruit (carbohydrates) and nuts (fat)
  • Scrabbled eggs with salmon
  • Salmon (protein) cooked in olive oil (fat) with vegetables (carbohydrates)
  • Goats cheese (protein) salad (carbohydrates) with olive oil (fat)

What is meant by a good source of protein would be good quality soft cheeses, organic meat such as fish and chicken- although being a Pescatarian I just stick with fish. For carbohydrates it seems to be fruit, veg, oats and soba noodles; no pasta, rice, normal potatoes, anything that causes a spike in blood sugar levels (has a high glycemic index) which effects your skin. So refined sugar is off the menu as well. For fat it’s oil and nuts. To drink, you can have water, green tea (caffeine doesn’t agree with me so I don’t have this), herbal tea, some smoothies and red wine (no red wine for me though, although it’s delicious it really doesn’t agree with me). You can’t have sugary drinks, pure fruit juice, or coffee. There’s also the lovely bonus of being able to have dark chocolate as it’s high in antioxidants. I have done the Perricone diet about three times. The first time I did it I stuck to the menu plan ridgedly and was amazed at how much better my skin looked in such a short period of time, although I didn’t follow the diet for very long as I wasn’t very committed. The second time I did the diet I just followed the principals and did it for just over a month before my wedding, with the aim of making my skin look great, a welcomed side effect is that I lost LOADS of weight- so much so that I had to get my wedding dress adjusted by my Mum a couple of days before the wedding because I had lost so much weight from my waist and stomach. I actually lost more weight then when I was doing 2 hours exercise a day- 1 hour cardio and 1 hour muscular structure/toning work and this time I was just doing some walking and muscular structure, no cardio due to having bad knees. Initially I was tired for the first few days and occasionally took naps (this also coincided with being jet lagged) I think my increased tiredness was from my body using other things then just carbohydrates for energy. After that I felt great, I had loads of energy, no cravings, an appetite for fruits and veg rather then sweet carby treats and the weight loss felt so effortless. Towards the end of the month I was getting quite sick of being on perricone as I felt quite limited in what I could have and it wasn’t fun going out to restaurants with my family and not being able to enjoy all the lovely food and then watching them eat it. I also felt like my brain wasn’t working properly and felt a bit slower, i think this was due to not having as much carbohydrates. You are allowed porridge on Perricone but this time around I decided not to have any, so I was getting my carbs from soba noodles and sweet potatoes. When I came off Perricone I remember having a croissant for breakfast and having a mad rush of endorphins!!! The following weeks I just felt full all the time (from the increased carbs), luckily the weight didn’t all go straight back on- it slowly crept up!!! I’m doing Perricone now for a third time as I am seriously limited on what exercise I can do thanks to chronic pain and I was starting to get chubby which was really getting me down (mostly feeling like I had no control over my body). I’m having porridge this time around and I’ve found that I don’t ever really feel hungry or feel the highs and lows of my blood sugar being all over the place (which it is normally). I’m craving protein and lots of water and enjoying doing a diet that feels like I don’t really need to try, the recipes are delicious and my lovely husband is doing it with me too. Here are some Perricone recipes, I’ll be updating this whenever I try a new one:

Eggs

Wild Mushroom and Goats Cheese Omelettes

Salads

Feta Walnut and Pear Platter

Kidney Bean and Tarragon Salad

Vegetables

Balsamic Roasted Asparagus

Spiced Winter Squash with Fennel

Fish

Salmon Fillets with Puy Lentils

Almond Encrusted Wild Salmon Fillets

Smoked Paprika Roasted Salmon

Walnut Crusted Salmon Fillets

Baked Fillet of Salmon with Asparagus and Caper Enriched Lemon Sauce

Rosemary Salmon Burgers

Wasabi Salmon Burger with Lemon Garlic Asparagus Fries

Grilled Trout

Desserts

Extra Dark Chocolate with Blueberries 

Dark Chocolate Pots de Creme

Smoothies

Cherry Almond Smoothie

Dr Perricone’s Fruit Smoothie

Here are the recipes I wasn’t particularly keen on:

Savoury Scrambled Eggs with Mushrooms and Chives

Cinnamon Walnut Coconut Pancakes

Leave a Reply

