Toasted Oats, Mango, Bluberries and Yoghurt

IMG_2782This is my first recipe from the Jamie Oliver Everyday Super Food book my husband got for Christmas! It’s still as super dooper healthy as any recipes by Carol Vorderman, Gwyneth, Junger or Perricone, but has more of a guarantee of being delicious as it’s by a experienced and renowned chef.It looks absolutely amazing- like something you would see if you went for brunch in one of Melbourne’s many amazing brunch places. This tastes absolutely amazing- bursting with goodness, it’s so delicious and I love all the different textures and colours. Yum!!!! The oats provide you with a slow burning fuel and are high in fibre and phosphorus and magnesium which keeps your bones healthy and strong. This recipe is suitable for vegetarians, vegans and those on a detox (if you use dairy free yogurt instead) it’s also wheat free, dairy free and gluten free.

Serves 1

  • Handful of porridge oats (50g)
  • 1 level teaspoon fennel seeds
  • 1 heaped teaspoon coconut flakes
  • 2 heaped tablespoons natural yoghurt (I used coconut yoghurt as normal yoghurt doesn’t agree with me)
  • 1 small handful of blueberries (I included raspberries as well)
  • Rose water (optional)
  • 1 small ripe mango
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 lime
  • Manuka honey (optional)

Put the oats into a frying pan on a medium heat with the fennel seeds and coconut and toast until lightly golden, tossing regularly. Tips into your bowl and spoon the yoghurt on top.

Put the pan back on the heat, put the blueberries in with a good splash of water and a few drips of rose water. Boil for a couple of minutes until the berries burst and you have a loose sauce then spoon over the yogurt.

Slice one of the cheeks off the mango and cut a criss cross pattern into the flesh, then turn it inside out so all the pieces pop up. Peel and slice the banana then dress both the mango and the banana with a squeeze of lime juice. Optional- add a teaspoon of honey over the top.

2 thoughts on “Toasted Oats, Mango, Bluberries and Yoghurt

    1. ljgodbolt Post author

      Hi Jacks!

      Sorry for the slow reply, I didn’t know what this was in reference to or was 100% if this was you and not spam as I didn’t recognise the email address! In your facebook message you say “Just worried about you and your diet. Seems like you are eating very high carb diet now and little protein/meat.” no need to worry šŸ™‚ my recipe posts are about any new recipe that I try that I haven’t previously blogged about and as I would normally only post once a day maximum these posts aren’t a reflection of everything I eat in a day! I had the grilled red peppers with ricotta and basil with quinoa (high in protein, there is also protein in the vegetables and ricotta) and I regularly eat fish but don’t post about the individual fish recipes that I have as already posted about these and haven’t tried out any new recipes. I hope that put your mind at ease and thank you for looking out for me šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

