Rodney Yee’s Yoga for Energy and Stress Relief

81IdgP83PFL._SL1500_I thought I had all the yoga DVDs that I needed (beginners, intermediate and advanced). But since I’ve been spending a lot of time trying out mindful and relaxing activities, I thought I would invest in some new Rodney Yee yoga DVDs as I’ve done my existing ones so many times. I bought Rodney Yee’s Yoga for Energy and Stress Relief precisely because I need to destress as much as possible because I suffer from chronic pain and stress relief eases the symptoms.

This DVD’s good because it has 4X 20 minute workouts and a 5 minute workout, so the duration of the workouts aren’t intimidating and you can fit it in if you’re pushed for time.

Awaken and EnergisemaxresdefaultTime: 19 minutes
Areas worked: Legs
Equipment needed: Chair

This is different to Gentle Relaxation and Restore and Rejuvenate in that most of the moves are performed standing up rather then on the floor. It’s all pretty easy and a lot of the moves are simplified versions of other yoga moves using the chair for support, you still get a really good stretch though, especially in your calves. Even though this is called Awaken and Energise the pace is still pretty chilled.

Gentle Relaxation507011368_1280x720
Time: 23 minutes
Areas worked: Legs
Equipment needed: Chair

This was the first time that I’ve done a yoga workout that involves a chair, I think the chair is there to get your into comfortable positions, but you can’t help but feel that this is more of a beginners workout because you’re doing less of a stretch then you would be if you didn’t have the chair to support you. This workout is really similar to yin yoga in that you hold each pose for about 5 minutes and you have the prop of the chair to help you. The stretches aren’t too challenging, but even if you’re used to working at an advanced level this will still relax you. A couple of poses into this workout and I was already yawning and by the end of it I felt more relaxed then I imagined I would.

Restore and Rejuvenate1280x720-eIZ
Time: 18 minutes
Areas worked: Legs
Equipment needed: Chair

This can hardly be called a workout and you’re lying on the floor for the majority of the session. There are a few of initial stretches with your back against the chair, using the chair to help your posture. You’re not going to get a lot of movement in this session but it is really relaxing and by no means intimidating.

Bonus Practice: Sooth and Stretchmaxresdefault
Time: 20 minutes
Areas worked: Legs
Equipment needed: None

I would say this was somewhere between beginner and intermediate level, the moves aren’t too easy- you can definitely push yourself more into each stretch but it’s not too hard either. The moves at the beginning seem like they’re more pilates/toning like then typical yoga movements as you’re pulsing in the poses, I think it’s nice to have some variation. You spend a good amount of time with your head upside down, which is a little bit sick inducing (!) but it’s nothing terrible. As this practice is so short the time just flies by. Although this is aimed at being relaxing, and it is, it isn’t as relaxing as Colleen’s PM yoga practices- I find her really soothing, you’ll feel yourself completely zoned out afterwards and it’s bliss!

Bonus Practice: Mountain Meditation

More details to follow

Every single yoga workout (and lots of others)

Leave a Reply

