Dietitican Approved Thrush/Candida Diet

salmon-saladI’ve had chronic thrush (as well as chronic pain) for 14 months now, which, as you will know if you have suffered from it, is painful, uncomfortable and can be debilitating to your lifestyle.

  • I’m unable to do cardio or any exercises (sometimes including walking) that involve moving my legs unless I have a symptom free day and sometimes doing the above mentioned exercises can bring symptoms on. I can do slow yoga.
  • Sometimes I can’t even sit down properly because I’m in so much pain.
  • I’ve been on medication long term, which is expensive and I need to get monthly liver function tests to make sure the medication isn’t damaging my liver.
  • I’m not able to drink alcohol with my medication.
  • Due to the unknown effects the medication may have on a fetus I will not be able to try to get pregnant until I am off the medication.
  • I’m unable to wear tight or restrictive clothing so I basically live in sweatpants, drop crotch trousers and skirts and dresses. Also annoyingly I have to wear traditional pant style cotton knickers so I can’t wear my VPL free Lululemon light as air briefs which are made from a plasticy material.

yoga-meditation

Obviously I’ve literally done everything I can think of to try and get better; I’m seeing a gynecologist and a physiotherapist and I’m avoiding anything that may bring on any symptoms or make my symptoms worse. I take salt baths, I get lots of sleep, I listen to relaxation CDs, I do yoga, I’m practicing mindfulness, I’m doing everything I can to lower my stress levels, I use perfume free toilet paper, I don’t use any laundry products or toiletries that contain anything that would potentially make my symptoms worse. My gynecologist mentioned that cutting out alcohol and sugar seems to work for some people as does the thrush diet. I have been unable to find any solid information for the thrush diet online. There are a few different “thrush diets” but these vary in what is and isn’t allowed and some are very strict and none seem to be approved by a qualified person such as  a dietician or a doctor, only naturopaths and nutritionists, so I’m not prepared to go on an extreme diet unless it is clinically proved and is the best one to follow. So I decided to get a referral from my doctor to see a dietician.

superfoods_collage

My diet up until now has been a pescatarian perricone diet, simply because it’s low GI, I had to reduce what I was eating to match my mostly sedetary lifestyle, I enjoy the food and I find that I can stick to it long term as I don’t get cravings. This is what I have been sticking to:

Avoid

  • Meat (apart from fish)
  • Simple sugars
  • Milk by itself
  • Potatoes
  • Wheat
  • Gluten
  • Rice
  • Wheat free bread
  • Alcohol
  • Normal chocolate
  • Sweets
  • Artificial ingredients
  • Dairy yoghurt

Have

  • Fish
  • Kefir
  • Cheese
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Quinoa
  • Soba noodles
  • Eggs
  • All fruit
  • All vegetables apart from potatoes (unless they’re sweet).
  • Oats
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Olive oil etc
  • Honey (sparingly eg in porridge)
  • Dark chocolate with no nasties in
  • Lentils
  • Chickpeas
  • Coconut yoghurt

My dietician said there is some evidence that glucose can have an effect on candida so she has put me on the following diet:

Avoid

  • Simple sugars
  • Dairy Products (including kefir)
  • Probiotics (I have been taking them)
  • The brand of pre-pregnancy supplement I was taking
  • Yeast
  • Fermented food (including tofu)
  • Fungi
  • Fruit
  • Gluten containing foods
  • Bread
  • Hummus
  • Starchy vegetables: corn, green peas, potatoes, pumpkin, sweet potato and squash
  • Asparagus
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Onion and garlic
  • Coconut water
  • Liquid iron supplement
  • Chocolate
  • Watered down fruit juice
  • Green drinks
  • Smoothies
  • Non dairy yoghurt
  • Chickpea flour
  • Soy sauce
  • Drinking lime juice (it’s fine in cooking)

Have

  • Long grain brown rice (any other rice is fine but this is the best)
  • Raw nuts and seeds (no more than 30g)
  • Water (can be flavoured with lemon and ginger)
  • Herbal tea (not green tea)
  • Dairy free milk
  • Oats
  • Fish
  • Eggs
  • Quinoa
  • Non starchy vegetables
  • Tomatoes
  • Olives
  • Regular serving of dark leafy green vegetables (for source of iron)
  • Lentils
  • Herbal tea
  • Avocado in small quantities- no more than 1/4 avocado.
  • Zucchinis no more than once a week
  • Eggplant no more than once a week

Supplements (these are to replace my preexisting iron, folate and fibre tablets and are not specifically for treating thrush).

  • Psyllium husk
  • Fefol iron and folate supplements

Each meal needs to consist of an approved carbohydrate, vegetables and protein.

Approved carbohydrates

  • Long grain rice
  • Quinoa
  • Oats
  • Soba noodles

Approved protein

  • Lentils
  • Fish ( I would be allowed other meat but I’m a pescatarian)
  • Eggs

Eg Egg with quinoa and spring onions, peppers and carrot.

On her advice I’m going to stay on this for 2 weeks then review with my dietician. Depending on how I’m getting on I will then reintroduce certain foods. We’re also going to make sure that I’m not losing too much weight. Although I’m scared that I’m going to gain it!

This diet is going to be drastically different to what I’m currently consuming as I have so much fructose in my diet, but after 14 months of pain I know it’s going to be worth it and I’m looking forward to seeing how I get on and also excited about being reintroducing rice into my diet.

Dietician Approved Thrush/Candida Diet 2 Week Review

Leave a Reply

